Week Six: Possession Obsession

Live More Want Less

image credit

The bottom line is…I am a recovering shopaholic, much like the female the author speaks about in this chapter.  The chapter even names all my favorite spots, most importantly T.J. Maxx…With my schedule becoming increasingly hectic, it is not the will to stop shopping that stops me it is the lack of time and energy for it.  So when i look up at the end of a pay period and all of the sudden i see extra money, I’m like yes and MAKE a way to get to the mall or T.J. Maxx, DSW, Ross etc in my schedule. That is where I realize I was never actually cured of my shopaholic-ism…This chapter was good for me.

I save a LOT, because I am going to buy a townhouse/condo (CLAIM IT!), so technically I can do what I please with my leftover allowance.  However, I think that I could still have better control over my spending.  “The way” introduces a technique that I will be practicing from here on it.  Trying to plan ahead, helps me a lot.  In my diet & exercise, and my work, so naturally it should help in my shopping.

The Way:

Take a break from spending by buying on what you absolutely need and only when you absolutely need it.  Differentiating between thoughtful purchasing and frivolous amassing is the barometer for measuring shoppings hold over you.

Daily Practices:

Evaluate your motivations for shopping.  Outside influences like catalogs, internet ads, and television can be strong motivators to purchasing.  Switch the motivation to inner desire rather than outside stimuli, like a sale or promotion.

Recognize your usage of the word “need” in your daily life.  Often this powerful word is applied to nonessential “wants” and can be contagious.  Use it correctly and sparingly.  Wants are what turn good shoppers into shopaholics.  Establish a true need or expressed purpose for every item before buying it.

Practice conscientious returning: make sure that the things you buy you wear.  Subscribe to the rule of buying with a purpose, and if you do not wear the item within a reasonable time span, return it.  A good gauge is within a week or two.

